Tropical Storm Lee Drenches Gulf Coast

in Earth, Science 0 Comments Tags: , , , ,

New satellite photos snapped by NASA and NOAA spacecraft are giving storm watchers an ultra-high view of Tropical Storm Lee as it pounds the U.S. Gulf Coast. The photos, taken by NASA’s Aqua satellite and the NOAA’s GOES 13 weather tracker were snapped at different times on September 3, revealing the intensity of Lee’s severe thunderstorms and rainfall. NOAA’s GOES-13 satellite view of Tropical Storm Lee shows the storm in visible light wavelengths 9:32 a.m. EDT (1332 GMT), revealing it to be a spiral-like  mass of white clouds pounding the Gulf Coast. 
[ad name=”Google Adsense-3 11″]
The Aqua satellite snapped an infrared view of the storm for NASA scientists, showing Lee’s strongest thunderstorms over Louisiana and the Gulf of Mexico as they appeared at  about   3:47 a.m. EDT (0847 GMT). According to NASA spokesperson Rob Gutro Lee is expected to pour rain on the states of Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama for the next three days. It could spawn flash floods for regions in the southern parts of those states, as well as the Florida Panhandle.
source:www.space.com

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE