When Will Worm Moon Happen in 2019?

When Will the Last Supermoon 2019 Happen?

The next and final supermoon of 2019 which is called full worm moon will occur in March 2019. This special supermoon rises the same day as the vernal equinox—marking the start of spring! According to www.almanac.com “The March full Moon is particularly special because it reaches its peak on the same day as the spring equinox, on March 20, 2019. The last time the full Moon and the spring equinox coincided this closely (4 hours apart) was in March 2000, but the last time they occurred on the same date was on March 20, 1981!”.

At US time zones, the equinox arrives on March 20, at 5:58 p.m. EDT, 4:58 p.m. CDT, 3:58 p.m. MDT, 2:58 p.m. PDT, 1:58 p.m. AKDT and 11:58 a.m. HST.

The worm moon will be brighter and bigger than normal, accordingly the night sky is clear and dark that is why it is called supermoon. As we have mentioned above this is the last supermoon and the year’s third (and final) of three straight full supermoons. 

What Is Equinox?

An equinox is the instant of time when the plane of Earth’s equator passes through the center of the Sun. This happens twice each year: around 20 March and 23 September. Better to say it is the moment at which the center of the visible Sun is directly above the Equator.

As informed earthsky.org [Generally, the first full moon of a Northern Hemisphere spring announces the imminent coming of the Christian celebration of Easter. Because Easter Sunday usually occurs on the first Sunday after the first full moon in spring, some of us might expect the upcoming Sunday on March 24 to be Easter Sunday. However, by ecclesiastical rules, the equinox is actually fixed on March 21, so that places this year’s Easter Sunday (for Western Christendom) on April 21, 2019].

Source: Text; earthsky.org, www.almanac.com

Image credit; awarenessact.com