Hurricane Irene Has Reached New York

The new hurricane photo, taken by NOAA’s GOES 13 weather satellite 22,300 miles, nearly 36,000 km above Earth, shows Irene as it appeared on august 27 at 10:10 a.m. EDT 1410 GMT. At that time Irene’s outer bands had already extended into New England. Irene made landfall in Cape Lookout, N.C., on august 27 at about 8 a.m. EDT (1200 GMT) as a Category 1 storm, with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph (136 kph). By 11a.m.  EDT (1500 GMT), the Weather Channeled   reported that Irene’s  sustained winds at Nags Head, N.C., were about 65 mph (104 kph). Two tornadoes were reported in Virginia Beach, Va., and a tornado watch was in effect. 

The biggest impact was felt on Sunday night in upstate New York and New England where   many communities suffered devastating floods after rivers burst their banks and Irene’s torrential rains fell on ground already saturated by unusually high downpours earlier this month. But while the storm failed to bring the devastating surge of water that had been feared in New York City, it was still powerful enough to claim lives and cause widespread damage elsewhere.
source:www.space.com