Moon Saturn and Spica at Morning Sky on January 16

The last quarter moon shines near the bright star Spica and the ringed planet Saturn on January 16, in the wee hours after midnight and before daybreak. From mid-northern latitudes, this trio of lights shines highest up in the sky shortly before the dawn of day. The last quarter moon falls at the same instant worldwide. The last quarter moon comes on January 16, at 9:08 Universal Time. In United States, that places tomorrow’s last quarter moon at 4:08 a.m. Eastern Time, 3:08 a.m. Central Time, 2:08 a.m. Mountain Time, and 1:08 a.m. Pacific Time. This is the time when the moon reaches the exact last quarter phase. For all of us, worldwide, every last quarter moon rises in the approximate middle of the night and sets in the approximate middle of the day.
Everyone around the world tomorrow will see the moon and Saturn near Spica and in front of the constellation Virgo. But that doesn’t mean everyone will see the moon at the instant of last quarter moon. As seen from Asia, Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand, it’ll still be a rather slender waning gibbous moon that lights up tomorrow’s morning sky. By the time that the moon reaches last quarter phase, it will have set beneath their western horizon.
source:www.earthsky.org